Interview with Deliaria Davis

Well, it appears I’ve been haphazard in my blogging here at Delusions of Sanity. Yeah . . . sorry about that. I have a list of excuses I could read, but let’s be honest, you don’t want excuses–you want blog posts.

And, since it’s blog posts you want, it’s blog posts you shall get.

Starting off the year, I have an interview with the talented Deliaria Davis.

So let’s rock and roll, and get started with this interview. First, a little background on Del.

Del married the love of her life on Halloween 11 years ago. She is a mother of five amazing children. They have 2 cats and one fish and enjoy spending time together as a family. She enjoys writing all sorts of books and stories and currently has about 9 projects that she is working on when she isn’t busy homeschooling her autistic son, or helping her youngest son with therapy.

She misses the mountains and snow of the only true place she calls home: Alaska. Del currently lives in Spokane, WA with her family and plans to live there until she becomes rich and famous through her writing and can afford to move back to Alaska.

You can follow her on Twitter  @MattsBella

Facebook www.facebook.com/deliariadavis

or through her blog at http://deliaria.mreauowpublishing.com/

Delusions of Sanity: So, getting right to the questions. I’ve read some of your projects, and I have to say that they read as very gritty and realistic. When you’re writing a book, how much research do you do?

Del Davis: Normally I don’t have to do a lot of research, but on the book I am working on right now, I am having to do a bit of research. It’s a WWII drama so I want to make sure that I am historically accurate to the time frame and the locations. I don’t want someone to go to it and read it and tell me that I didn’t do my research.

Delusions of Sanity: That’s what I like about writing high fantasy, I have to engage in some meticulous research, but there’s nobody who lived it who can say, “Hey, you got that all wrong.” So it’s definitely important to go deep into research when writing about a real world event that changed the lives of living people.

Can you tell us about one of your main characters? What does he or she do that is so special?

Del Davis: In What was His, Damion is a two-millennia old demon who is pursuing the woman that was taken from him. The best part? It’s her soul that he is pursuing. He has been searching, waiting for her soul to be reincarnated for almost two thousand years.

Delusions of Sanity:  Very cool! So, it sounds as though you’ve got a great story hook. Speaking of story hooks, I’ve seen some debate about whether it’s only the hook that sells the story, while other say you need a good cover regardless of hook. What’s your take on cover art? Do you think the cover plays an important role in the buying process?

Del Davis: I’m not big on on cover art. I can look at a cover and be turned off by the cover, but the blurb can be so amazing that I will stop and read the book. The blurb can make me want to know what happens. Not just, is it really that bad. No, I want to know why does X feel Z is after A when D is really after H while N is in love with B.

Delusions of Sanity: So the moral here is to not discount the importance of the blurb. I don’t want to put forth a product that seems to be all flash and no substance. Good advice.

It sounds as though you’re pretty busy. How often do you write, and do you have a special time during the day to write?

Del Davis: I write when I can. I have five kids. Writing is a luxury for me. I love writing, I love reading… I wish I had more time for both. But for now I keep the writing and reading to after the kids have gone to bed.

Delusions of Sanity: I can imagine trying to strike that balance is difficult. Do you have a favorite motivational phrase?

Del Davis: This may seem odd to some, but I actually have “It doesn’t not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live” tattooed on my leg. It’s my favorite quote from Dumbledore.

Delusions of Sanity: That’s a great quote! It doesn’t sound odd at all to me. It’s actually a very salient point.

Well, that’s all the time we have this month. I’m glad that Del was able to come by and talk for a little while. If you’re looking  for more about Del and what she’s up to (and to see her showcase her wittiness), check out her blog. Thanks again for dropping by, and I promise to be less haphazard in this new year.

Leave a Reply

