Author Interview: Milli Gilbert

Life’s been crazy (even by my standards), and I’ve been remiss in getting interesting blog posts up. That noise? That was my New Year’s resolution zipping past, tripping on the rug and crashing through the window. Great, one more thing for me to clean up.

But, while I procrastinate on everything else, here’s an interview with author Milli Gilbert who is stopping by to answer some questions.

First, a little about Milli:

And eclectic writer, Milli Gilbert is a stay-at-home mom who loves to play with words almost as much as she loves to play with her kids. All of her stories involve romance, and maybe a little bit of mystery. Milli loves to write about cowboys and shifters. And can usually be found trying to find interesting ways to combine them. She has several short stories published, and hopes to have her first full length novel out in November 2017. She just took off after one of her couples to follow them around for a few months – but don’t worry, she’ll be back. If not, you can find her on Facebook, Google+, and Pinterest, or follow her on Twitter.

And of course, on her blog, Hairballs of Genius

MG 02

 

And now for the interview.

Delusions of Sanity: Hi, Milli! Thanks for joining us. Let’s go ahead and jump right on into the interview. When you think about your writing, are there any particular authors who inspire you?

Milli: So many! Poe for his dark broodiness, Pamela Britton for her ability to draw a reader in with a laugh… I could go on all day about authors who inspire me, but those were just off the top of my head.

Delusions of Sanity: I’m also under the impression that you’re pretty busy. Do you write full time or part time?

Milli: As full time as I can, considering I’m a stay-at-home mom. If I could muster 40 hours in a week, I’d be a happy camper, though.

Delusions of Sanity: Wow. Forty hours a week while trying to juggle being a stay-at-home mom. I’m impressed. Since your time is at a premium, do you find yourself letting ideas and books stew–leave it for a month and then come back to it to edit?

Milli: You know, that really depends on the book. Sometimes, I have to let it stew for a while, sometimes, I have to dive right back into it right away. It’s just a matter of whether the issues it has are evident right away or not. I’ve had some books where I’ve spent months trying to figure out what’s wrong with it, and other books, I look at it and go, “Oops. Fix that, and the rest makes sense” or “Oh, this is awful. I know what the problem is, but it’s no small fix.” Those are the ones I just re-write.

Delusions of Sanity: Now, you’ve mentioned that you plan on releasing a book in the near future. That’s very exciting news, and it leads me to a question about your publishing choice since it’s one I’m considering for myself, if you don’t mind my asking. What motivated you to become an indie author?

Milli: Um… laziness, I guess. It’s fewer steps to publication. I don’t have to pitch to agents or submit to open calls or anything. I mean, I’m doing all my own marketing and that, but at the same time, the way it sounds, it’s starting to get that way for newer authors who choose to go the traditional route, too, so… indie publishing it is!

Delusions of Sanity: Ha ha! Yes, I can definitely see the reasoning. As your writing career progresses, do you have any particular ambitions about where you’d like to see your writing lead?

Milli: Honestly, I just enjoy the process of writing, no matter how much I may want to pull my hair out sometimes. But… I really want to be able to say that I’m an author. It was one of my many dreams as a kid, and the one I kept going back to. I don’t need celebrity status like J.K. Rowling, or Stephen King, but a comfortable living off it would be nice.

Delusions of Sanity: That definitely resonates with me–I’d like to be a full-time author making a living at what I do, but I want to keep my goals at least passingly realistic.

Well, that’s all the time we’ve got for today. It’s been great having Milli come by and hang out with us, and I hope to hear about her publishing her book soon. Thanks to all of you for reading, and a big thanks to Milli for humoring me with an interview.

Leave a Reply

